Skip to content
November 29, 2004 / gus3

Target Acquired

I hate going to the local Wal-Mart. It’s crowded, noisy, full of bratty kids and clueless adults, and generally not really a friendly place to shop. But suddenly I hate it considerably less.

Richard Ducote at the Arizona Star points out how the Target chain has suddenly started enforcing their "long-standing" rule prohibiting solicitation on store property. This effectively says no to the Salvation Army. No kettle, no bell, no personal sacrifice to help those who need it.

And no patronage from me is going to Target. If they’re going to be that hard-assed about it, I’ll take my money to the noisy, un-friendly Wal-Mart instead. The Salvation Army’s work has indirectly touched my life, and they’ll have my loyalty, and all my pocket change during the Christmas season, to my dying day. I’m sure it has helped many Target employees as well, but I guess Target just doesn’t care.

(Hat tip: Hugh Hewitt.)

Leave a Reply

