Skip to content
September 17, 2010 / gus3

Configuring a Gameport Joystick in Linux

I picked up a PC Power Pad Pro at a garage sale, for something like US$0.50. A steal, for 2% of its original retail, right? Except I couldn’t get it to work with my sound card.

I did all kinds of Google searches, trying to figure out why my controller wasn’t… controlling. I had the “analog” kernel module loaded, I passed the “map=0x30f3” parameter to it, but I got nothing back. The system log showed nothing about a joystick connected anywhere.

I tore into the Linux kernel documentation. It was no help. I finally had to help myself, with some imaginative thinking. Was I looking in the wrong driver for the solution?

It turns out I was. The sound card module, “snd_ens1371” in my case, does not activate the gameport by default. The fix is to pass “joystick_port=1”, either on the “modprobe” command line, or by adding

options snd_ens1371 joystick_port=1

to /etc/modprobe.d/local.conf.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jhansonxi / Sep 22 2010 1:19 pm

    Helpful tip. Thanks.

  2. jaswrites / Dec 27 2010 4:49 am

    The command line can also be altered so that the initial command in the terminal links to the gameport itself.

Leave a Reply

