Skip to content
January 3, 2011 / gus3

Forth, Come Forth!

I’ve decided to pursue just one more language in my Collatz studies: Forth. After finding the right Lisp code to print a Collatz series, I figure one more “let’s cross the programmers’ eyes” language should round out my functional understanding of programming theory.

My understanding of the theories behind Forth and Lisp is that they are two sides of the same coin, with the one-for-one correspondence between them established by people far smarter than I. I can certainly vouch for this much: Where Lisp has parentheses to indicate lexical nesting, Forth has only the programmer’s mind to keep track of it.

I know the Collatz sequence is possible to calculate in Forth. The trick is to do it, without wrecking the return stack or underflowing the data stack. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

