Skip to content
August 11, 2014 / gus3

Intel Finally Slims Down

I know it’s been, oh, over a year since my last post. It’s been kind of like the Olympic gold medalist’s let-down: what do I do now? I’ve done a lot of tinkering, and “what happens if I do this?” kind of stuff, but nothing really big.

But this afternoon, I read about Intel’s new 14-nanometer process for making a CPU, giving 52-nm interconnects. Now, given that the covalent diameter of silicon is 222 picometers, a 52-nm interconnect would be:

52000 / 222 = 234 silicon atoms wide.

The mind boggles.

Leave a Reply

